Book Store Logo

Working Dogs Calendars & More

Stuff for Dog Lovers

The international magazine for and about working and sporting dogs -- and the people who love them.
 
Home Books and Dog Equipment Classified and Premium Ads Working Dog Articles Canine Health Articles Working Dog Resources About Workingdogs.com

Woof!

Home > eBooks

In the tradition of Marley and Me, an anthology of essays about the world’s oldest friendship. In the introduction to this canine-themed anthology, Elizabeth Marshall Thomas writes that few books truly capture the essence of dogs; Woof! being the rare exception. Pithy observations and heartfelt confessions from the acclaimed writers who love them lay bare the relationship of human and dog. Original personal essays include Rick Bass’s poignant tale about the week his hunting dog, Point, was given a fatal prognosis. Abigail Thomas writes about the hilarious maneuvering it takes to share a bed with three dogs. 2007 National Book Award winner Denis Johnson gives voice to The Colonel, his bullmastiff, who recounts a day in his and Johnson’s lives. And editor Lee Montgomery describes life with a schnauzer that masturbates with clockwork regularity. Like the memoirs Marley and Me and Dog Years, Woof! probes the sometimes tumultuous, often selfless love affair between dogs and their human companions. At times irreverent and funny, at others heartbreaking, Woof! is sure to become part of the literary canon of animal writing.

Only $12.99 - Click here to buy now!

Didn't Find what you need? Check out our other departments:

Quick Nav:
Book Store
Departments

HOME | SEARCH | BOOK & Gear | Classifieds | Articles | Health | Resources | About Us | Privacy Statement

All site contents and design Copyright 1996 © Working Dogs
Please feel free to link from your site to any of the pages on Working Dogs domain in a non-frame presentation only.
You may not copy, reproduce, or distribute any site content in any form.
Copying and distribution of any Working Dogs domain content may be done only with publisher's consent.
For information on reprinting articles please contact Working Dogs.
Page